

EBPOΠΕЙСКИ ПАРЛАМЕНТ PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTET
EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROOPA PARLAMENT EYPΩΠΑΪΚΟ KOINOBOYΛΙΟ EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT
PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA hEORPA PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS
EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÓPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EWROPEW EUROPEES PARLEMENT
PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENTO EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN
EURÓPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROOPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPAPARLAMENTET

## The European "Road" to Increased Safety

Monday 21<sup>st</sup> January 2008, 18h30 – 20h

Room number: A3G2

An event hosted by MEP Paolo Costa, President of the TRAN committee

Session 1: 18h30-19h15

## Expertise and efficient practices for the conception and the daily management of TEN-T road network

- Designing, building and operating safe road infrastructures in Europe today: the case of the Portuguese motorways (APCAP-Pt).
- Value chain in safety management: accident response, concessionaire duties, co-operation with police authorities (ASFA-Fr)
- Work zones and technologies: management and communication to the users (AISCAT-It)

**Conclusions:** Modern motorways safety features for the European citizens (Maurizio Rotondo – chairman, ASECAP permanent committee on safety & environment)

Session 2: 19h15-20h

Draft directive on Road infrastructure safety management: the way ahead

Panel discussion

**Moderator**: Paolo Costa – President of the TRAN committee

**EU Commission**:

E. Grillo-Pasquarelli – Director of the Directorate for Inland Transport – DG TREN

**EU Parliament:** 

Helmuth Markov (TRAN committee rapporteur on the draft directive)

Renate Sommer (shadow rapporteur)

ASECAP: Maurizio Rotondo, ASECAP COPER II Chairman

European Transport Safety Council (ETSC): Antonio Avenoso, Deputy Director International Road Transport Union (IRU): Michael Nielsen, General Delegate

Q/A with the floor

**20h**: the event will be followed by a **cocktail reception** offered by ASECAP.







EBPOΠΕЙСКИ ПАРЛАМЕНТ PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTET
EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROOPA PARLAMENT EYPΩΠΑΪΚΟ KOINOBOYΛΙΟ EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT
PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA HEORPA PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS
EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÓPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EWROPEW EUROPEES PARLEMENT
PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENTO EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN
EURÓPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROOPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPAPARLAMENTET

## Important notice for persons who wish to attend the meeting

This conference is open to the public. However, for security reasons, access can only be given after prior request for an entrance badge.

In case you should not already possess an entrance badge to the European Parliament, please contact the ASECAP Secretariat, at the latest on 10 January 2008, providing them with your name, date of birth and nationality.

e-mail: <a href="mailto:c.defosse@asecap.com">c.defosse@asecap.com</a>

You may collect your badge on the day of the conference from 17.00 at the Altiero Spinelli (ASP) building entrance of the European Parliament Rue Wiertz, 60 - 1047 - Brussels



